Home > Networking, Uncategorized, Writing > Writing and Networking Quandary

Writing and Networking Quandary

I think that the one major problem I have when it comes to my networking with others, and my writing is my lack of consistency.  One moment I’ll be in active communication with a person on a daily basis, and the next moment I’ll drop off for a month or so with little to no notice.  Usually I have a good excuse–things tend to get real busy offline, though to be honest I have tendencies towards being a loner and taking extended breaks away from people simply to defrag and recalibrate myself (social scenes, regardless of where they are, tend to wear me out rather quickly.  Similar situation when it comes to my more formal writing (blogging doesn’t really count in my book).  One moment I’ll be completely consistent in my writing and the next it’ll dry up completely, either through writer’s block, stress or distraction.  This makes writing projects and meeting deadlines a bit complicated.  To be honest, I’m not sure who would want to network with me given this lack of consistency, something I find a bit depressing and frustrating at points.

I’ll be the first one to admit–I don’t think I handle stress very well sometimes, though on the other hand I’ve been told that I do handle or take on a fair amount of it to begin with.  I’m never really sure which one to trust though.  I also tend to get distracted–not that I lose interest in a thing, but sometimes I do spread myself alittle too widely.  I wonder if that’s the reason why I could never be any sort of fandom-related person, I just have too many interests to focus solely on one.  And when writing about something that is, at least for me, a way of life, some things I just don’t think about writing, because to me it seems so common sense and, well, commonplace.  D’oh.  Not that it wouldn’t be for other writers either, but there are so many things that I do, sitting down to focus on just what to write about becomes a chore.

I’m bringing this up here mainly in an attempt to flesh out my thoughts and devise better methods to remedy this while still maintaining my sanity and sense of personal boundaries (which, to me, are more than just physical).  I really want to become more active in the occult information exchange as it where, I just need to come up with a plan of action to keep myself focused.

  1. June 6, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I have a lot of the same problems–too many (really interesting!) irons in the fire, and not always a lot of time to move them around and do something with them. Here are things that have helped me, which might help you:

    –Go with my mood. If I’m really not feeling creative, I’m not going to force myself. I know some people who do really well with a goal of writing so many words per day, and that’s fine for them. However, I do better when my Muse bites me and I can just run with it.

    –When I have some free time, I ask myself, “What do I feel like doing?” Then I’ll go through a mental list (though written ones work, too) of things to do, and find whatever appeals to me the most.

    –Sometimes I psych myself up when I can’t be at the computer (such as on breaks at work) by thinking about things I’d like to write, and maybe even taking notes. I know your job requires a lot of concentration when you’re on the clock, but on your breaks (and even driving to and from work) you may find brainstorming helps whet your appetite. Then when you get home, you can sit down and write down all the stuff you thought about. Also, I don’t know what sort of arrangements you have with the rest of the guys, as it were, but if you don’t already have a protocol for who gets to use the computer/etc. when (like if you have a really great idea, but someone else is currently busy), see what sorts of arrangements can be made.

    –With regards to email, I try to reply preferably within 48 hours, a week at the outside if I’m really, really bogged down (though even then I’m not perfect). If I know it’ll be longer, I sometimes shoot a quick “I haven’t forgotten you!” email. People are usually pretty undetstanding, especially if they’re people for networking, because chances are they’re pretty busy, too!

    –Making priorities is another good one. Look really critically at the irons you have (not just the strictly creative ones) and figure out which ones are really important, and which ones not so much. Figure out ways to rearrange your time as best as you can (with the understanding that sometimes things just come up without warning).

    –I’m not sure if you’re one of those folks who needs to be able to sit down for hours to write, but I’ve found that training myself to write in short spurts when necessary helps. That’s part of why I brainstorm when I can’t write, because it helps keep the creativity flowing; that way I’m not starting “cold” next time I sit down at the computer.

    Like I said, these are things that help me; YMMV.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

