Home > Books > Egyptian Shaman, by Nick Farrell (out soon)

Egyptian Shaman, by Nick Farrell (out soon)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description of the title above from Buy.com:

Primal Ancient Egyptian Magic Restored From the dawn of Magic, there was a primal form of magic which was ancient before the Pyramids were born. But unlike many religions, where belief and worship of the forces of nature were persecuted until they died out, Egypt built its new religions upon them. It is possible to find a golden thread of shamanic practice that can be recreated and still remain relevant and useful today. Nick Farrell presents this system for the first time in his easy to approach and relaxed style. It is a complete system in which a practitioner can experiment with at their own pace. 

I actually found out about this book while surfing through Amazon.com.  You can preorder it here, or go through Buy.com which has its publication date listed at 10/30/08. Nick Farrell is also the fellow who wrote Gathering the Magic: Creating 21st Century Esoteric Groups, a good book to read if you’re ever considering joining an esoteric group or creating one of your own.

Good books on Egyptian magic and paganism are very hard to come by. Most of the ones I’ve picked up have made me cringe with all the sappy newage or conspiracy-theory bullcrap, so I tend to stick to more egyptological texts. This one, however sounds promising, and there are a few good books floating around out there as well if you know where to look. I am currently waiting for the arrival of Storm Constantine’s Sekhem Heka, and I look forward to seeing how it turns out. She was previously the author of Bast and Sekhmet: Eyes of Ra, another book I’d like to get ahold of.

There are actually quite a few good books I’ve read recently that I’d like to write reviews on here. I also should update my LibraryThing account with more recent (and even not-so-recent) books in my collection.

Categories: Books Tags:
  1. Ges
    October 27, 2008 at 3:56 am

    I look forward to hearing about your take on Sekhem Heka, I’ve debated buying it before, but hadn’t actually really seen a review. Thanks for the heads up on the Nick Farrell book, I’m curious about how it’ll be, but it’s going on my list (I like his stuff)

  2. October 31, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I did a cover blurb for this one–it’s pretty good, all things considered. Farrell’s a solid writer, without a bunch of fluff.

  3. November 9, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    HI just to let you know that I finally got it into press and NOT with the original publisher. It can be bought here http://www.mandrake.uk.net/nickfarrell.htm although it is up on amazon.co.uk it has a different cover,

    Nick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

