A Random Assortment

First off for the morning, The Red Lotus Library is now live, with its first book, The Syncretisms of Antinous. Go click the link and grab it! I’m going to do so as soon as I am able. I must admit I don’t know enough about this deity as I should, so I am greatly looking forward to cracking it open once I have it in my hands.

There are also some great discussions in the comments regarding Lupus’ follow-up post on Spirit Day. Well worth taking a look, as well as some of the links provided by Phil Hine, such as this one, this one, as well as this, which offers an alternative view. Then there is also mention of “ostentatious caring”–something that really does happen quite often within the Pagan “community”, as was pointed out. I think I may have to pick up this book for further reading.

It is also today that I am introducing my “Sacred Scavenging” category. As some of you readers may know–but many may not–I collect and work with a wide variety of animal remains, old relics and other assorted objects. I also plan to be taking up taxidermy, especially now that I’ve acquired my own separate workroom/ritual space for such things. I will also be taking classes for my hunting license this fall, if all goes well. I understand that such things aren’t for everyone–but I expect that people reading this journal will conduct themselves in a mature manner with regards to expressing their opinions and thoughts. I do not expect everyone to agree with me, but inflammatory comments about my practice will not be approved, and you will not be offered the satisfaction of a response.

In any case, I look forward to introducing such things to this blog. I plan on stepping up posting here. I am vastly behind on the writing I told myself I was going to do, and this must change.

  1. Juuka
    October 24, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I think getting your own hunting license is an excellent idea, actually. The abstract of ‘Sacred Scavenging’, at least to me, involves a lot of respect and dignity for the animal – spirit, physical presence and all. The idea of something that you scavenge being one of 30 needlessly murdered innocent creatures for the fur trade, or for whatever other shtick the guilty party decided to use to justify it might not necessarily always be avoidable but if you can hunt, and you can do so with the spiritual implications in mind, and follow whatever morals you feel obligated to adhere to, then your practice becomes that much more personally beneficial, doesn’t it?

    Wow, I’m sure I’ve not managed to really say what I wanted with all that. Nonetheless, I think that hunting is an excellent exercise in restraint, deep thought, personal challenge and responsibility.

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

