Home > paganism, shamanism, Spirituality > Home From Germany

Home From Germany

Well, I’m home from Germany, and I had a great time as always. I would like to post more about it later, we shall see. I have a lot of material I would like to get out on here however. I must admit I’ve been a little remiss in posting here–that will hopefully change in the future. For one thing, I would like to focus more on my ‘sacred scavenging’ work, which is a very integral part of my spiritwork and related. My hope is to give this practice more time in the spotlight, as it were. There seems to be a lot of misinformation and misunderstanding out there on the use of animal parts and other such things. Otherwise, my internet presence will continue to be sparse at best. An update on my current state of affairs can be found here.

I seem to have missed a lot of interesting topics, posts and discussions while I was away for the month of August, such as this one on the use of entheogens and the watering down of paganism (read Dver’s post in its entirety and check out the links for yourself). Of course, those of you who tune into this blog probably know my stance on this–though color me unsurprised on how the censorship issue in particular ended up going down. Regardless of how one stands on a certain issue, “uncomfortable topics” within the modern neopagan community (entheogens, the use of animal parts, etc.) tend to get quickly censored, shouted down, ignored, or otherwise met with uncomfortable silence. It seems almost a standard operating procedure to take whatever is comfortable or appealing, and leave the rest. Those of us who work intimately with deities, spirits and other entities (and see them as autonomous beings such as we are) know that the reality is far different. But perhaps I am going on a bit of a tangent here.

In any case, I’m going to head back offline now, and continue dealing with my jetlag, and the various different degrees of catch-up and adapting I must perform from having been away for a month.

  1. September 6, 2011 at 7:14 am

    “It seems almost a standard operating procedure to take whatever is comfortable or appealing, and leave the rest.”

    But… but then we’d have to do *work*! On *ourselves*, even! *swoons from shock*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

