Home > paganism, shamanism, Spirituality > Thoughts on ‘Shamanism’

Thoughts on ‘Shamanism’

Weeellllp.

You know, I used to use ‘shamanism’ as a sort of catch-all term.  I’ll admit, I’ve been guilty of that in the past.  But at some point I realized: hey now, you dumb old dog.  Intellectual laziness is unbecoming of you.  Yes indeed.

In fact, the more I observe, the more I find that quite a variety of abuses and appropriations are occurring all in the name of ‘shamanism’.  It seems as if people do not truly know what this word is and where it came from, or they just don’t care.  One quaint little excuse is that it has become part of the common parlance, therefore, that makes it right.  Except, it doesn’t.

This website here is particularly enlightening.  Also, here is another humdinger of a page worth scoping out.

I probably have a lot more to say on this issue…in fact, I know I do.  But, I have enough irons in the fire at present (most of which are happening offline), so I will have to revisit this topic later.

  1. Soli
    November 7, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    I’ve been developing something close to a fetish for using culturally appropriate words for the various magical practices I undertake. Both freeing and renders me able to narrow down exactly what it is that I am doing.

  2. November 11, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    I’ve been chatting with a shaman who is a member of the Circle of Tengerism regarding cultural appropriation. From that experience, I encourage any of your readers who are inspired by a living, breathing culture to communicate with them, rather than mindlessly borrowing/stealing from them. We ‘White Westerners’ need to appreciate that we have a privilege. We have a freedom of religion that other cultures don’t have, something that we have to consider before claiming titles we haven’t earned. /rant

  1. November 7, 2012 at 2:28 am
  2. November 8, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

