Home > Uncategorized > Veteran’s Day and Other Miscellany

Veteran’s Day and Other Miscellany

Today is Veteran’s Day.  Right now my old man is away on vacation.  In February he enters into his fourth deployment, this time to Iraq (the others were Afghanistan, but before that he’s traveled to Qatar and a variety of other places).  This year is going to be strange for the whole family, but above all else I worry for my dad.

Telling someone “Happy Veteran’s Day” has always seemed queer for me.  Vets have gone through a lot of shit.  They’ve also taken a lot of shit.  Sometimes this day isn’t happy for them.  Many times, it’s just bad reminders, dug up by people who haven’t quite had the experiences they’ve had.  As opposed to wishing anyone a “happy Veteran’s Day” I tend to just do something else.  Buy my old man a cake or something.  Donate to an organization that helps veterans and deployed.  Or both.  Something.  Action means a lot.  There are other ways to honor veterans today than just wishing them a “happy Veteran’s Day”.  Well, I also think Veterans Day and Memorial Day shouldn’t be the only days we remember our veterans and war dead.  I’ll probably write more on this later.  I tend to have to address this particular topic in stages.

Also yes I’m revisiting this topic again, from my last post.  I think I’ve come on a bit strong (which I don’t apologize for) and have not done a very good job (in my opinion) of explaining my position properly.  I’m not here to say that every pagan gathering or what have you is wrong.  That would be incorrect.  Public ritual and celebration is an important aspect of any spiritual practice or religion.  However–and I think this was the point I was trying to make before–I feel there is a decided difference between that particular thing (which is well and good) and spiritual exhibitionism.  Or, to put it more succinctly, a nice hardy ego circle-jerk, using gods and spirits as an excuse for such.  You must also remember that this is being written by someone with a notorious habit for misanthropy. I admit this may be a detriment for me at times.

And on that note, the halftime show is over, and so I must sign off for now.  There is more I wanted to write on, but that will have to wait for another time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

